Tah dah! For my first post, I’ll share a brief poem…

10 Sep

Since I am not really a poet, perhaps I should call this a “proem” so that your expectations are lowered. I wrote this little ditty while out at a neighborhood park with my two oldest children, Elizabeth and Christopher. They were both young kids then. I had just purchased them a kite, and Chris had just gotten the hang of getting one afloat for the first time in his life.  They were both delighted! As their dad, I was transfixed, caught up in the wonder and delight of this shared moment with them.  It was simply magical, even mystical! Since I didn’t have a camera with me, I sat down with a scrap of paper and recorded that memory right then and there with following words . . .

The wind

crept up

like some

unseen, crafty cat

stalking


As a kite

tap danced

playfully

on its tiptoe

a tease


Clouds

and Sun

stood by

hushed

and smiling


And I

just watched —

an innocent bystander

to simple beauty.


— Tom Webber, (c) 4/19/89

10 Responses to “Tah dah! For my first post, I’ll share a brief poem…”

  1. fallenangel39 September 10, 2010 at 10:43 pm #

    I think you can safely call what youve written poetry Tom.Very well done.Welcome to the world of blogging..I look forward to seeing more of you round here.

    • texastom46 September 10, 2010 at 11:01 pm #

      Wow! That was a fast response! I barely hit send to advertise the blog and there was your comment! Thank you soooo very much for your kind words of encouragement! It means a lot!
      Blessings, Texas Tom

  2. francescanewtski>. September 10, 2010 at 11:48 pm #

    mr. webber great great great poem….i loved it…it was amazing…i hope you write more in the future

    • texastom46 September 11, 2010 at 2:58 am #

      Well, garsh…thank you, Francesca! You make me blush!

  3. Jonny September 10, 2010 at 7:40 pm #

    I am very excited to hear more from your blog! are you looking at putting up weekly posts?

    • texastom46 September 11, 2010 at 3:04 am #

      Thanks for looking me up, Jon! I can only tell you that it is truly my intent to post at least once a week. My suspicion is that I will initially post even more often than that. Then this frequency will probably diminish over time as the exigencies of life take over. My hope is that much of what I write will serve as catalyst for healthy sharing among the visitors and subscribers of this blog so that, over time, a small community grows. That way, I won’t have to write so often. But we’ll see if my dream pans out that way!

  4. Gary Kitchin September 17, 2010 at 10:28 pm #

    Tom, I like your blog and the poem was very nice. When Emily was little we were flying a kite one day in a park on Wis. Ave in back of St Camillus Health Center. She was maybe three years old. She let go of the string and the kite started drifting away. Of course, she was very upset. I had to decide to watch her or chase the kite before it got away completely. I snatched her up with one hand and tried to grab the string with the other as it flew out of our reach. It got away from us, but we learned a lesson. If you let go of the string, your kite might fly off and never come back.

    • texastom46 September 18, 2010 at 9:23 pm #

      Thanks for your compliments, Gary, and for sharing your precious memory. For me , if I don’t snatch up such memories, I’m afraid that they’ll be lost — much like that kite. But also, my attempt at poetry will also help me to unearth the transcendent treasure of the moment. Hope that makes sense.

  5. Christopher Webber September 23, 2010 at 8:26 am #

    Hi Dad,

    I remember this day, or perhaps one close by an offset of a year. (Actually, the one I remember was by the art museum..)

    Anyway, I had no idea you were writing down poetry. 🙂 But it’s good to read this.

    I’m not much of a blog commenter, but I have you in my RSS feed reader, so I’ll keep up, even though normally I am quiet.

    • texastom46 September 23, 2010 at 8:18 pm #

      Glad you stopped by, Chris. I am really quite sporadic when it comes to journaling and other kinds of writing for pleasure, but since I have accumulated a backlog of this material over the last 30 years, I figured I’d get some of the best of it out through blogging. So here it is!

      Glad you share the memory! The specific location isn’t the important thing but rather the deeper experience I had as a dad with you and Elizabeth, my children. These are precious memories and I felt like I caught the essence of the moment pretty well, in my own little way.

      Hope you stop by from time to time!

      Love,

      Dad

Leave a Reply

