Reflection: The Life of Gratitude

24 Nov

Since we celebrate Thanksgiving tomorrow, in that spirit I thought that I would share this little journal I wrote a few days back. Here’s to hoping that you and your family have a bountiful and joyous celebration, and that you learn to take up that spirit as a way of life. — Peace, Tom
The Life of Gratitude

I have long known that
the key to happiness lies
not in pursuing happiness itself.
Rather, happiness is the natural fruit
of living a life
of thanksgiving,
of gratitude.

Gratitude begins when I am ready to
let the scales fall from my eyes,
have a pure receptivity to life as it is,
have a Beginner’s Mind,
become a Child,
be Born Again,
viewing the world
with unfiltered Wonder,
without judgment,
with pure Acceptance.

Then Beauty shall reveal herself
in all her splendor,
arising like the proverbial Phoenix
from the rubble of life’s  pain, sorrow, dullness, and ennui.

(c) Thomas C. Webber  11/18/2010
3 Responses to “Reflection: The Life of Gratitude”

  1. Francesca November 24, 2010 at 10:48 pm #

    Tom, this is wonderful. I am so glad I saw it. This is just what I needed to hear.

    Happy Thanksgiving friend,
    f

    • texastom46 November 24, 2010 at 11:35 pm #

      Thank you, Frannie. My thoughts don’t have to wander far to be filled with gratitude when I think of you! Happy Thanksgiving!

  2. Peggy C November 25, 2010 at 10:14 am #

    Amen!!

Leave a Reply

