“Bluer Than Blue” (original poem)

16 Oct

Night-Train

“Bluer Than Blue”

As the harvest moon peers behind shudders
of mist-blown clouds on this autumn night,
watching, as I hear the distant rumble of your train
with its lonesome whistle piercing the silence of my solitude.
I am startled out of my drunken stupor and tears shed
through a thousand seasons of regret.

And I am left to ponder:
Is this the final depot of your long journey?
And will you be waiting, weary of your load,
ready now to take to my arms if I come for you?
If not, that celestial spy will surely know
what I am . . . bluer than blue.

By Tom Webber
Tuesday, September 7, 2010

Leave a Reply

